Comprehensive aged care
information for all Australians

New Aged Care Quality Standards Welcomed

The First Upgrade for the Aged Care Quality Standards Recently Passed Through Parliament

The new aged care quality standards are set to benefit ageing Australians. They’re a part of what the former Prime Minister ‘Scott Morrison’ referred to as the “comprehensive aged care overhaul.”

When considering quality in the aged care sector, there was widespread conversation opened to aged care providers. Additionally, conversation opened up to the public. They also opened up to key interested parties prior to drafting the standards. Secondly, the department worked closely with consumer groups. They also worked with academics, providers and experts to draft the new standards.

The changes will apply to all services across the board. Thus, they’ll apply to home care, residential care, flexible/respite care, and the Commonwealth Home Support Programme.

clipboard writing with pen

What’s This Mean?

So, what’s this mean for you or your ageing loved one? Firstly, it indicates the prioritisation of the safety and quality of care for ageing Australians. According to the Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care ‘Ken Wyatt,’ this means the protection of rights for senior Australians.

Providers’ will demonstrate accountability by having to prove that “their care and services are safe, effective and customer-centered.” The implementation of the new standards also intends to provide ease of information by streamlining standards.

Changes to be Made

Under the changes, the single quality standards will replace the following previous standards and bring them under one set of standards:

  • Accreditation standards
  • Home care standards,
  • National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flexible aged care program quality framework standards
  • Transition care standards

The New Aged Care Quality Standards

Under the new aged care quality standards, providers have to demonstrate how they’re met. It also includes a statement of outcome for the consumer and an expectation for the provider. As per The Australian Aged Care Quality Agency, they’ll include the following:

  • Consumer dignity and choice
  • Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  • Personal care and clinical care
  • Services and supports for daily living
  • Organisation’s service environment
  • Feedback and complaints
  • Human resources
  • Organisational governance

For further information about the new aged care quality standards, please visit the Department of Health.

Notably, for the consumer, the new standards show great promise with its consumer focus. It also proposes improvements in quality and safety for older Australians receiving aged care. The implementation of these standards will roll out from the beginning of July 2019.

Keep in mind that a transition period will follow and providers will have time to implement the new standards with support and assistance. At the end of the day the intention is that the consumer will benefit from these new standards and that quality of care will improve. If this is the case it’s a step forward to improving the quality of care in the aged care sector.


For all the latest aged care news, subscribe to our monthly newsletter

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You must be logged in Log in »